Crying because I’m chopping onions

22 Jun

 

I’m not weeping because

I miss you

I’m crying because I’m

chopping onions

I’m not lonely because

you’re not here

I’m cooking the dishes

you used to prepare

I’m not nostalgic with

memories of you

I’m trying to recall all

your recipes

I’m not wondering about what

you would say

I’m pondering on how it would taste

 

I’m not sorry

you left me

I rue the day

you went

I’m not looking for comfort in

your dishes

I’m trying to recapture

your essence

I’m not searching for

your happy look

I should place your recipes

in a book.

 

I wrote this poem whilst cooking a curry which was taught to me by my mother. She passed away three years ago. I find cooking or baking, therapeutic, a distraction. There IS comfort in food which is prepared and cooked with the extra ingredients of warmth, love, and happiness. I’m not saying it lessens the burden of bereavement, but it does help me to ease the pain.

The Learned Kat

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Crying because I’m chopping onions”

  1. Christine Irving June 28, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    I really like this very much- probably because I’m also a poet who loves to cook. I thought it was poem about a lover before i read your explanation. Interesting how jut the slightest shift in perspective changes meaning so much. Glad to have found you- thanks for liking my poem. I’ll drop in again.

    • thelearnedkat June 28, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

      Thanks. Yes, I had to deliberate over the explanation. I was wondering whether I ought to provide an explanation or not and just leave it to the reader to make up their own minds as to who it is about. But as you have quite rightly said, perspectives do change slightly when background information is provided.

Leave a Reply

