Waiting

30 Jan

clock 1

I waited but you didn’t come
I waited but you weren’t there
I waited for the knock at the door
anticipated text, a jaunty phone call.

I waited for what seemed like endless hours,
minutes ticking, seconds weren’t hours.
I waited, made excuses, reasons, cut my losses,
day dreamed and fantasised.

I waited.

clock 2

I waited to see your face
glad to feel a warm embrace
hear your history and stories made

I waited.

clock 3

I waited for the cold to subside,
doors open, freezing inside.

I waited for you to call my name
rooms look tidy like a picture framed,
perfume wafting like a hurricane.

I waited for you to arrive.
I waited for you to come

clock 4

I waited
waited and waited.
WAITED until I was wasted.

 

The Learned Kat

clock 5

Leave a Reply

