Some People Are Gaysian – Get Over It!

17 Feb

I know I have been silent for a very long time…but here’s an article I wrote for Media Diversified

Media Diversified

by Khakan Qureishi

Speaking outLast year, I participated in a project whose aim was to explore the issues surrounding people who identify as LGBT amongst South Asian communities in the UK. The interviewer asked the following three questions:

1) Why are LGBT South Asians still “hidden”?

2) Why aren’t there any visible role models of South Asian LGBT individuals?

3) Is being LGBT still a “taboo” amongst South Asian communities?

The media student who initiated the project at Bournemouth University told me that she hadn’t had many responses to her request to interview people, and that those who had responded were only prepared to speak on audio equipment or wished to remain anonymous in the written word. I was the only one willing to speak on camera.

I’ve come across many similar situations. In my experience people who identify as LGBT are more likely to keep their orientation or gender identity…

View original post 1,502 more words

Leave a Reply

