A broken history of my future

13 Feb

I acknowledge the past but I am my future
I can’t change the past as I am for the here & now and have to move forward
The pains of my parents during the Partition Years I cannot partake
the colour of colonialism I cannot shake
For I was not there
How dare I impress the burdens of the past
referencing history like shards of glass
picking up pieces for my own endless farce

Playing on words like it’s my history
I wasn’t even there, is a mystery
how monoculture reigns, re-think the legacy
Unlock the slaves, freedom is a fallacy
Remove the flags, swim through the Indus
Declasse we are, no need to remind us
My past is my memory, I cannot let go
The wars of the world, ebb and flow
I acknowledge the past but I am my future
Regardless of the story, into dust we will grow

Don’t sabotage the past for your own personal glory

Leave a Reply

